I’ve seen things you people wouldn’t believe

xkcd: Depth Perception

xkcd, if you weren’t familiar with it, is a webcomic of romance, sarcasm, math, and language. This is nerdspeak for “contains jokes for the discerning geek”. It is dependably intelligent, funny and accessible to all, except perhaps rabid believers in “alternative therapy” (I’ve got a doozy on this week’s to-do list for you) and incurable arithmophobes.

For those who think numbers can’t be whimsical and romantic, I offer the above poetic musings and these famous last words, which were what came to mind when I saw it:

I’ve seen things you people wouldn’t believe. Attack ships on fire off the shoulder of Orion. I’ve watched c-beams glitter in the dark near the Tannhäuser Gate. All those … moments will be lost in time, like tears…in rain.
Time to die.

Blade Runner (1982)

Happy Monday.

2 responses to “I’ve seen things you people wouldn’t believe

  1. I read of someone rigging prisms to give two periscopes about 2 metres apart horizontally, then looking at London with them — and seeing everything in 3D across the city.

  2. This is awesome – I’m reblogging and checking out the site. Thanks for sharing!

Go on, bother me. You know you want to.

