Video of the day: Singing in the rain

It is pissing down here, with a brisk chilly wind hauling masses of sodden cumulus into position so they can rain on me.

I do not want to go out in this. I want cuddles and hot cocoa and, according to the SO, I am getting neither because there’s work to be done. So, since nobody is about to bring me sunshine, I have to comfort myself with this little excerpt of classic silliness from the late, great Morecambe & Wise.

If you’ve never heard of Morecambe & Wise, their comedy show (with lots of singing and dancing, because they were also good at that) could rival the Muppets in its insanity. Where else could you have found Rudolph Nureyev, Laurence Olivier and André Prévin happy to make complete fools out of themselves for the greater good of entertainment? Getting respected and beautiful-but-intimidating BBC news anchors to show some remarkably shapely leg while dancing? A show that could also feature The Kinks or Peter Cushing or Nana Mouskouri (as I recall, she came back for extra punishment, and they were not tender) or Tom Jones? Not to forget Dave Prowse, Elton John, Yehudi Menuhin, Vanessa Redgrave and many others, some still famous, some alas long gone and their exploits wiped by BBC shortsightedness.

 

Go on, bother me. You know you want to.

