Video

Video of the day: model railways as they should be done

I want this. I want this so, so bad. It is my dream job to work on something like this. I mean, places like Bekonscot are great, but they’re nothing on this. This is total nerdgasm to the power of awesome.

My father was an electrician. He made a model railway with remote controls and all sorts of tricks for my brother and me. We even had a control panel with lights to tell us which ones on the track were green or red, the state of the points (also remote-controlled) and everything. Trains stopped automatically at red lights. Smoke puffed from chimneys. Whistles were sounded when approaching crossings. It was brilliant. Everything was carefully selected to be exactly the right size to fit with the OO/HO gauge trains and we did what we could with our very limited artistic abilities to make the decor look realistic.

I’ve always wanted a house with a big attic or basement to build my own. And it must have one of those Swiss trains that go up mountains, you know the sort. There will be people skiing on glaciers, too. Elsewhere: a city, with commuters. And further south, a resort with its own miniature railway

I soooooo want one of these.

Enhanced by Zemanta
Go on, bother me. You know you want to.

